Orchestra Iowa

Orchestral Showcase: Beethoven 5

Kernis            Musica Celestis
Schumann    Kontzertstück for Four Horns
Beethoven    Symphony No. 5 

Also playing Saturday, October 1 at 7:30 p.m. in Iowa City at West High School & Sunday, October 2 at 3 p.m. in Fairfield at the Sondheim Center.

October heralds the performance of one of the most recognized, yet rarely performed works of the symphonic repertoire – Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. From those famous first four notes to the climactic ending featuring the debut of the trombone in symphonic writing, Orchestra Iowa is pleased to present this masterpiece to Eastern Iowa audiences.

Sharing the stage with Beethoven is the thrilling Kontzertstück for Four Horns by Robert Schumann featuring the Orchestra Iowa horn section as soloists. American composer Aaron Kernis’ gorgeous Musica Celestis for string orchestra will open the program.